Swim Alberta Hands out Hardware at 2017 Awards Banquet

Swim Alberta Hands out Hardware at 2017 Awards Banquet


September 30th 2017…Canmore- On an evening surrounded by the beautiful mountain setting in Canmore, Alta., Swim Alberta held their annual awards banquet that recognizes the successes of their athletes, coaches and volunteers for their dedication to the sport of swimming in Alberta.


The ceremony, which was held for the third straight year at the Coast Hotel in Canmore, saw several coaches and athletes take home some hardware from their past year of competition provincially, nationally and internationally.


Among tonight’s recipients, Swim Alberta paid an emotional tribute to long time official and volunteer for the province, Steve Brown, who passed away suddenly in June. Brown’s wife and two sons accepted the award on his behalf, receiving a standing ovation from the room.



2017 Banquet Award Recipients:


2016 Para Female

Morgan Bird - CASC

Coach: Wendy Johnson


2016 Para Male

Zack McAllister - LASC

Coach: Peter Schori


Junior Male

Alexander Pratt  - CASC

Coach: Dave Johnson


Outlying Community Coach

Scott Wilson - RDCSC


Provincial Age Group Coach

Ildiko Deliu - CASC


National Age Group Coach

Dave Johnson - CASC


Larry Nielson Memorial Award

Ken Olson


Desperado Award

Greg Kozell-TRIT


Official of the Year

Steve Brown


Administrator of the Year

Teresa Stauft


Photos from the evening will be posted on the awards page. For a full write up of the criteria, and past winners of the Swim Alberta Awards, please visit http://www.swimalberta.ca/news/awards .